National Rural water supply and Sanitation Programme (NRWSSP) is the national program that intends to increase water accessibility and improve hygiene and sanitation condition of rural communities. The programme is being implemented to compliment various policies, strategies and program in order to achieve sustainable development in Tanzania. Among of these include; The Water Sector Development Programme (2005-2025), The National Water Policy (NAWAPO 2002), The National Strategy for Growth and Reduction of Poverty (MKUKUTA-2005) and National Development Vision 2025

The programme is co-financed by The World Bank (WB) and other development partners (DPs) and the Government of Tanzania (GoT) through the Ministry of Water (MoW).

The phase one implementation of the NRWSSP in Karagwe District commenced in July, 2009 and ended in May, 2012. This phase marked the preparatory stage that included feasibility studies and designs for various sub-projects. 10 villages of Nyaishozi, Chanika, Kigorogoro, Rwabikagati, Chabuhora, Nyakakika, Kayungu, Chamchuzi, Iteera and Kibingo are among the beneficiaries of this programme. Tanzania Association of Environmental Engineers (TAEEs) in association with NIRAS was the implementer for phase one implementation to give services in facilitation as well as technical services.

Project implementation phase II started with two villages named Kibingo and Nyaishozi, where successful implementation of the project was reached on August 2013 and currently, the communities are enjoying water services. In September 2013, three more villages named Chanika, Kigorogoro and Rwabikagate were added on Phase II project implementation and they are still on progress under TAEEs technical supervision as well as provision of facilitation services. TAEEs has been supervising and conducting community facilitation on the water projects in Karagwe District in a good cooperation with District Water and Sanitation Team (DWST), District Facilitation Team, District Water Engineer (DWE) and District Executive Director (DED). The new villages’ implementations of the projects are expected to end on April 2014. At the same time, during the month of December, other villages namely Chamchuzi, Iteera, Nyakakika, Kayungu and Chabuhora were entered into phase II project implementation, which completes the 10 villages plan under the RWSSP. By the time of this reporting, the projects in these villages were at their very early stages of implementation and expected to go further step during the year 2014. Nyakakika itself was one village with a total water supply system network of about 62km and in 2013, the village was upgraded to be ward which resulted into 4 villages.

Upon successful completion of the projects, a total number of 46,455 people will be served and enjoy the project goodies in Karagwe district while 20,903 people from Kyerwa district will be enjoying the government and development partner’s heartfelt initiatives.